Task 2: many museums charge for admission while others are free

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweight the disadvantages

It is a controversial matter as to whether or not museums should charge people with entrance fees. While this would definitely entail a number of benefits, I would argue that admission fees do more harm than good.

To begin with, there are several good points pertaining to maintaining admission fees in museums. One obvious advantage is that charging visitors with admission could help improve the budgets of museums. The fact of the matter is that organizing museums requires a considerable amount of money for maintenance purposes, security, sanitation fee as well as utility bills. Therefore, under some circumstances, money collected from visitors ensures that museums operate on a continuing basis. Another advantage is for museums to reduce the amount of visitors. In the context that some museums are facing a problem while the number of people visiting these museums a day is higher than their capabilities, some kinds of admission charges would be a simple solution.

Despite the aforementioned benefits, I believe that the drawbacks of entrance fees are greater. The main downside of methods such as entrance tickets is that they impede the chance of visiting museums and acquiring knowledge of those with pecuniary difficulties, especially students and poor people. For example, my sister, who is an overseas student in China, is encountering some adversities while doing a thesis on the history of Beijing as she cannot afford the increasing research expense due to rising entrance fee policies of some local museums. It would be wrong as knowledge of history and culture offered by museums should be made available to anyone, irrespective of social status and financial condition.

In conclusion, while I acknowledge the benefits that admission charges of museums might bring, I firmly hold the opinion that the disadvantages resulted are more significant.