Should governments make decisions about people’s lifestyle, or should people make their own decisions?

It is always argued that, whether the government should make decisions for the public's lifestyle or people should decide themselves? Although the government has an important role in investigating rules and design plans for a safe and comfortable life for people, everybody also should choose how to live in society. In this essay, the aforementioned will be discussed.

On the one hand, through historical evidence, the government always creates general rules for people's lives and shows them how to move through this way. They determine educational and healthcare programs with a view of people and society's needs. the government has a crucial role to provide a healthy environment and appropriate nutrition for people that have a direct effect on their lifestyle. Also in some cases such as sell and using drugs, the government has to make decisions because maybe numerous people want to use drugs and encourage others to use it and it is harmful to people's health and society.

On the other hand, the government should not expose people how to live and even how to think. In many countries, people even do not have the right to declare their expectations from life, because they will be suppressed. For example, in Islamic countries such as Iran, women must have a hijab and put on scarfs. Surveys were done in 2019 show that more than thirty percent of people especially youth immigrate from Iran to other countries to have basic human rights to choose for instance their cloths.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, the government should make decisions for people's lives in some cases. However, people are responsible for their life and should have the right to choose their lifestyle.