The prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this. To what extent do you agree?

People have different views as to how public money should be spent on health care systems. In my opinion, I totally agree with the idea that the government should spend a larger proportion of health care budget on preventing diseases and ailments than curing them.

To begin with, one advantage of precautions over treatments is that some health problems are incurable and thus it is crucial that methods should be taken to prevent these illnesses rather than deal with them. Despite the strongly development of science and technology today, people have not yet find a feasible way to completely treat a number of fatal diseases such as cancer or HIV/AIDS. However, these illnesses would be easily kept under control by a high public awareness about lifestyles and eating habits, which could be promoted by a proper investment on health education programs. For that reason, government spending on health care should be divert from medicine and treatment to health promotion campaigns.

Beside the aforementioned upside, I would argue that government funding for preventive measures brings about greater economic benefits for society as a whole than investing on hospitals. As for some certain diseases, the expenses of cure for people are by far greater than preventing. For example, 20 years ago, widespread plagues of malaria drove many Vietnamese families to impoverishment because of the expensive cost of treatment compared to their meager incomes. But the problem later was successfully remedied by well-funded government plans to improve the living environment in rural areas and sponsored inoculations for the underprivileged, which was reported to be less than the total money the Vietnamese had spent on curing the disease before.

In conclusion, due to the arguments presented above, I firmly hold the opinion that it is a priority for the government to direct total health care spending towards the preventive measures against health problems.