The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advanced technology which can prevent and solve a crime.Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, the development of technology has been positively changing the way people live and behave. From my personal perspective, one of the benefits of technology advancement is that it helps to reduce the crime rate in society by providing preventive measures and facilitating investigation processes.

To begin with, modern technology has an essential role to play in avoiding unlawful behaviors. Firstly, advanced safety measures such as digital keys, unbreakable windows or alarm systems give houses and building a high level of insulation from being broken in. Secondly, it is common to see scanning and ultrasound devices in airports or train stations nowadays. Under the close inspection and scrutiny of these machines, trafficking or carrying illegal objects are nearly impossible. Finally, cameras and CCTV are increasingly being used in public spaces and indoor as well. These devices offer round the clock surveillance as perfect supplements to police’s patrols. They serve as a deterrent to the prospective transgressors knowing that their actions are being watched 24/24.

Not only deter crimes from happening, technologies also efficiently support police in investigating and detecting wrong-doing actions. Besides the aforementioned advantage of CCTV, it is also a powerful tool to inspect upon crimes. To make it clear, by extracting videos from camera systems, police could easily investigate cases and track the whereabouts of the suspects. Likewise, science of footprint and biometric data systems enable the police to identify criminals. For example, the US police recently announced that they had successfully developed a new technology that allowed them to recreate portraits of a person just by a drop of blood, which was expected to help tracing criminals in the future.

In conclusion, the usefulness of technology in mitigating crimes is undeniable due to the arguments presented above.