People living in large cities today face many problems in their everyday life. What are these problems? Should governments encourage people to move to smaller regional towns?

It is true that beside the convenience that living in big cities might bring, residents in these cities are confronted with many issue ranging from costly living expenses to intense competition for jobs. To remedy these issues, steps need to be taken by the government to spur people to live in less crowded areas.

To begin with, one problem that most urban inhabitants have to endure is the expensive costs of living. In general, in populated urban areas, an average household has to spend a considerable proportion of its disposable income on accommodation and utilities due to the lack of living spaces in these areas. Moreover, spiraling daily expenses such as food and education also put a burden on urban citizens. As a result, a number of people who cannot afford the prices and have to live frugally in large cities often find their lives unhappy and uncomfortable. Another issue of urban life is the severe competition of the job market. The fact that people from outlying areas come to big cities looking for opportunities leads to a redundant in labour supply while the demand is not increase at the same pace. Consequently, unemployment is rife while those who are working have vie to keep their jobs.

There are several measures that the government could take to entice people away from teeming metropolises. Firstly, the authorities should institute special preferences such as tax reductions or discounts in public school fees for those who choose to live in small towns. Secondly, proper amount of money from national budgets should be invested in upgrading the infrastructure and services in small towns so as to make the life there more satisfying. All these measures would act as incentives to stimulate the trend towards living outside big cities.

In conclusion, residents in large cities might have some adversity like pecuniary difficulties or harsh competition for jobs and the government should consider undertaking some measures mentioned above to tackle the problems.