The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advanced technology which can prevent and solve a crime.Do you agree or disagree?

Owing to the technological innovations that aid in solving the crime quickly, in the recent days people are witnessing a drastic reduction in the incidence of crime compared to the past .In my opinion I agree with this view as technology helps in saving time by enabling the sharing of information about offenders and by helping to monitor crimes that are about to happen.

There is no scepticism about the fact the recent advancements in the field of computer technology aids in the sharing of information at a rapid pace. What I mean is that digitalisation of the criminal records and other important data about crimes across the globe has enabled state authorities to track the offenders and maintain the law and order. To illustrate this, Interpol is an international organisation that maintains digital data about international drug cartel and mafia leaders which enables every state to trace such criminals without difficulty and thereby take action with sufficient evidence.

Furthermore, technology certainly helps to prevent crimes that are about to happen. To be more precise, if people are aware of being monitored, not only will they obey the rules but also refuse to get involved in such crimes. A good example of this is that the installation of speed cameras with continuous monitoring facilities has curtailed the traffic crimes dramatically across major cities in India.

Lastly, technology helps to control crime by raising awareness among the public. In other words ,police personnel use mass media and the internet not only as an effective medium to communicate but also to raise awareness about cybercriminals and their style of doing fraudulent activities. A clear example of this is the effective awareness campaign about online hackers which resulted in a drop in complaints related to stealing of personal banking information.

To sum up in my opinion I strongly contend that technical inventions definitely have a supplementary role in curbing crime by raising awareness and monitoring.