Some people think it is more important for government to spend public money on

promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

In this day and age, the growing number of diseases have been posing a huge threat to human well-being. It is believed that authorities should spend the national budget on improving a healthy lifestyle to so that mitigating forthcoming health problems, while others think that should use this money to cure patients. From my perspective, I lean towards the former mindset due to several compelling reasons.

Admittedly, despite the fact that cutting-edge technology has been developing these days, some chronic diseases have not been cured. Take Cancer as an example, not only do patients pay a huge of money to save their life but also doctors encounter adversity in finding methods to cure their patients. However, hardly any cancer patients can suffer from these health problems. It is an undeniable truth that detrimental habits such as drinking alcohol or smoking have been the major causes that breed tremendous health diseases. Therefore, governments should deter this trend by advertising the harmful of bad habits.

Furthermore, living a healthy life does a favor for humans thus it is necessary for the government to allocate state funding to promote this lifestyle. To begin with, eating a clean diet and doing physical exercise have been strengthening human well-being, resulting in people having full of resistance to some tiny illness. To be more specific, should a person not have sufficient strength, they will easily be infected with flu or ill. Therefore, governments should take action to raise their dwellers’ awareness by updating information about how to lead a healthy life by utilizing social platforms such as Facebook or billboards. Besides, it is the case that living a healthy life means fewer residents visiting hospitals, resulting in a decrease in the amount of national money demanded for hospitalization or other medical fees, alleviating the government’s burden of taking care of patients.

To conclude, I wholly believed that the expenditures of the state budget should center on illness prevention by raising public awareness of regular exercise and healthy eating habits rather than curing terminal illnesses.