Some people think that it is necessary to use animals for test medicines or other products intended for human use Others however criticise this as animal cruelty Discuss both of these views and give you own opinion

The argument claims that Mason cirty residents enjoy water sports, but do not use the local river for recreation, and postulates that sanity reasons may have a role play-- therefore, cleaning up the river should correct the disuse. It implicitly, and possibly incorrectlty assumes it relies on is that the complaints about the water quality are the (sole) reason that people do not use the river for recreational activities. The trite, but prudent remark that correlation does not imply causation, is of relevance here. It is intuitive to assume that sanitary reasons might put people off from using facilities. However, it may be the case that they contribute only minorly to people not using the river. There may be other reasons, that still persist. The current may be too strong for safe use, or the river may be rocky, or there might be sharks lurking in the river, or the river may simply be seen as holy and pious. In such a case, cleaning up the river is not going to help much, unless the other issues are also dealt with. A more appropriate course of action to increase the use of river for water sports, would be survey enquiring the reasons explicitly.

Another issue with the argument is that of proper information capaigns. If the government silently cleans up the river and sets up facilities, but nobody learns about or notices it (apart from the lack of smell), they'll continue, simply due to inertia, to abstain from using the river. It is thus important for the city government to advertise its efforts to clean up the river, through newspapers, television channels, posters, etc.

Should the government be responsible for setting up recreational facilities? It depends upon the priorities of the people who elected the government. Surely, some might argue, that the taxpayer ought not to be responsible for setting up facilities which offer luxuries. Perhaps, a more diplomatic route would be to allow commercial agencies to set them up. They would ultimately be funded by the people who actually are interested in water sports. The fraction of people who do not enjoy riverside activities, after all, should not be asked to fund them, it could be argued. Therefore, it is also not clear if the funds to set up riverside facilities should come from the government budget at all. The best way may be to simply go commercial.

Whether it is in public interest for riverside facilities to develop, is another debatable point. Even if people enjoy watersports, there might be reasons it would not be wise to create recreational facilities in the particular area. Perhaps there is a school nearby, and a large crowd visiting the place would put children at risk. There might be a hospital requiring peace and quiet, instead of the hustle and bustle of a tourist destination. The people of the city in general might prefer that their city remain a rustic little place, not a tourist hotspot. Again, the cultural background is rel

These were a few issues I could identify with the argument.