Some people think that killing animals for food is cruel, but other claim that animals are a necessary part of diet. What’s your opinion?

Due to the fast development in technology, infrastructure and an increasing population, an enormous number of animals are being raised and slaughtered worldwide for human’s consumption. Although this act is seen as normal for some people who believe that meat is a vital part of diet, killing animals proves to be too cruel and the death of a myriad of animals is unnecessary.

The first reason is that animals are living creatures and they have the rights to live just as human being. Animals can feel pain, pleasure, happiness; they can love and cry; they suffer and feel in the same way and to the same extent as human do. Dogs and cats, for instance, have been human’s friends since ancient times, and undoubtedly, they behave in the same way as human do but without the possession of language. However, their inability to speak and communicate does not go hand in hand with a lack of thought and emotions. Therefore, it is morally wrong and inexplicable to cruelly beat and butcher animals, making these innocent creatures suffer pain to death, just for food.

Another point to note is that the human body will function normally without meat and a meat-free diet could bring various benefits. Some people argue that meat provides protein and other indispensable nutrients, concerning that the body cannot obtain adequate nutrition just by eating plant source food. However, meat can be completely replaced by fruits, dairy products and a variety of beans and peas, which are abundant sources of protein. In fact, it has been widely proven that vegans, in fact, lead a normal and even healthier lifestyle than do meat consumers. Moreover, meat contains various bacteria and unhealthy fat that can cause serious health issues such as obesity, food poisoning and other foodborne illnesses. This risk could be easily prevented by switching to a balanced vegetarian diet.

Overall, the act of killing animals for food is unreasonable by nature and should be condemned and stopped. Human should at first consume less meat and then gradually switch into a vegan lifestyle for both health and moral reason.