Some people think that large, impressive buildings are important for a city. Others believe that the money should be spent on improving schools and hospitals. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the era of rapid urbanization, there appear more and more skyscrapers in big cities. Many people think that these impressive buildings are a vital feature of a city. However, others believe that improving healthcare and education should be the investing priority instead of these building. I personally agree with the latter view.

On the one hand, people believe that special and giant buildings create the identity of cities, contributing to the development of tourism and economy. For example, the image of Eiffel Tower is always considered as the symbol of Paris. This great architecture also makes itself become a tourist attraction, which promotes the national tourism. Also, the fact that tourists are likely to spend money on local products such as souvenir gifts, food and accommodation, etc. leads to a significant increase in the local people’s income and the economic growth. Another benefit of building large buildings is that it can help to solve the problem of living space in big city. As the population grows dramatically, housing in metropolitan cities is extremely expensive. Tall buildings are supposed to be the solution to this problem as it can provide citizens with large capacity without taking much public space.

On the other hand, ones against investing in giant buildings believe that the quality of schools and hospitals, which is the directly beneficial to residents, should be focused. Instead of spending a huge amount of money just to impress foreign tourists, this budget can be allocated to upgrade school facilities and build healthcare centers in remote areas or wherever in need. It is more important for people to get access to these systems for their basic need. For instance, if there is an outbreak of a disease, it is not beautiful buildings but hospitals that save human from suffering.

In conclusion, although large and attractive buildings are an essential part of cities, I am strongly believe that healthcare and education are the most important to invest in the modern society.