Some people think living in big cities is bad for people's health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of whether living in big cities exerts a harmful influence on human beings' health has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that residents in big cities are more likely to undergo health problems, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that citizens in metropolitan cities, such as Tokyo and Seoul, have difficulty in avoiding some pollution, which can cause damage to their physical health, resulted from living in cities. Perhaps obvious pollution is air pollution created by a huge amount of transportation emitting CO2. In addition, there is a great deal of noise pollution in cities, which has detrimental effects on residents' mental health. This is because most of the metropolitan cities have a multitude number of people even though the size of their territory is small. Thus, many citizens have a tendency to live in flats which are difficult to prevent noise problems from rising. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that dwelling in a city does harm to citizens' health.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that living in cites merely brings with it negatives on people's health. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that residents in cities which has a huge amount of population are easy to use health care services, compared to inhabitants in the countryside. To exemplify, one recent article released by the Seoul Times illustrates that life expectancy of people in Seoul was the highest in South Korea in 2018 and the main reason for this phenomenon was turned out to be a myriad of hospitals. Furthermore, people in big cities have more chances to keep their health since there are a myriad of programs related to health, such as yoga classes and lectures about healthy diets. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.