Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People have different views about whether we are relying on each other these days. In my opinion, the modern world forces us to be more independent.

On the one hand, there are two key reasons why some hold a belief that the dependence trend is more popular. Firstly, since the high cost of living in the modern world, young adults can not afford their lives with work remuneration and savings. Therefore, they need to depend on their parents' financial support to pay for their bills or to buy houses. A good example of that case is my friend who was planning to run her own business. She had to borrow her parents' money for that because of her insufficient savings. Secondly, people seem to be more ambitious nowadays, and they focus too much on their work. As a result, they do not have enough time for their children and have to rely on grandparents or babysitters to take care of their offsprings.

On the other hand, I would argue that people have become more independent than they used to be. Firstly, as technology is getting more developed, people may not rely on others for their quests. In fact, they can search for a wealth of helpful information on the Internet. For instance, the Internet can enable students to do their homework alone and encourage self-studying, teachers are just people who guide them to have access to the right websites. Moreover, in most countries, as many youngsters decide to move out to build up their own homes, families have become smaller. This means that people do not count on relatives as much as they used to. We also see the trend of traveling alone in the young generation in recent years.

In conclusion, I personally believe that people are more independent in deciding their lives in the modern world despite some opposite thoughts.