Some people think that mothers should spend most of their time raising their children, and therefore the government should support them financially. Do you agree or disagree?

Double income families were virtually unheard of just about 100 years ago. This phenomenon is a symptomatic of the growing distance between family members these days. Whilst there are certainly valid arguments to the contrary; in this essay, I intend to argue that at least a parent, especially mother, should remain at home and take care of their children. Further, governments should offer financial incentives to parents who choose to stay at home. The reasons for my position are as follows.

First of all, it is an indisputable fact that dual income families have become the norm in modern societies. Traditionally, one parent assumed the role of the breadwinner, while the other – typically the mother – acted as the homemaker. In this day and age, however, many women have become business or professional workers thanks to the efforts of militant feminists. Consequently, many children are growing up in a parentless environment. Little wonder, then, there are an increasing number of children feeling alienated. This contributes to the increasing distance between family members and ends up with divorce and family breakdown.

In order to resolve the sense of alienation within families, it is essential to address its root causes. Perhaps the most effective method of doing this would be for governments to offer financial incentives to parents who would rather remain at home. Admittedly, such incentives would probably not fully compensate the lost income of couples; however, it could at least soften the hardship of living on a single income and provide an alternative for parents who are willing to remain at home but unable to do so because of financial constraints. Subsidies for women who are housewives are therefore entirely justified.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my perspective that at least a parent – particularly the mother - should stay at home to ensure that their children are well brought up and there are strong bonds between parents and children. It is my belief that though this is a problem of great complexity that no solution is likely in the foreseeable future; however, the measures outlined above constitute a good first step and would be warranted.