Some people think that is is necessary to use animals for testing medicines or other products intended for human use. Others, however, criticize this as animal cruelty. Discuss both of these views and give your opinion.

It is believed by some that experimenting on animals for products and medicines purposed for human is justifiable, whereas some people hold the opinion that this activity is brutality. This essay intends to analyze both perspectives. I personally believe that animal testing for human benefits is inexcusable.

On one hand, the main reason why some people support animal testing is that they consider humans to be at the top of food chain and consider animal killings for food or other purposes logical. Moreover, animals are vital in the medical field. By conducting drug experiments on animals, researchers have developed treatments and cures for many diseases like diabetes, cancer, polio and saved so many human lives. Research on animals like rats, mice, and pigs have led to vaccines for various illnesses.

On the other hand, using animals for drug trials aiding rewards for human beings is inhumane to some. There are various reasons why some people are against it. Firstly, animals are living creatures too and people have no right to exploit them for their selfish motives. Secondly, animals are very different from humans and so what is tested on animals cannot be applied to humans. Also, they are some alternatives available to animal testing like computer models or human volunteers. Finally, animals should not be exploited for products like wool, fur or leather as these are not human necessities and nowadays various synthetic substitutes are available in the market.

To sum up, I would like to reiterate that animal exploitation is unjustified and a cruel activity and there are numerous options available that are cruelty free and need not be tested on animals.