Some people think that the news media nowadays have influenced people’s lives in negative ways. Others disagree and say that they have been more positive. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

For many people, news is an inseparable part of their lives. An issue in dispute is whether the impacts of news media on humans’ lives denote a negative development. Although some people may confess its beneficial effects, others do not take the same position. Both sides will be elaborated in this essay.

The spread of the news from various media including radio, television, and the Internet has had potential advantages on people as well as the societies. Needless to say that collecting information from the news definitely promotes the people’s awareness. Political and economic programs broadcasted from the mass media make people able to understand what is going on around the world. For people holding authorities, accessing to the internet-based media opens up an opportunity to study the opinions of people who regularly leave their viewpoints on public forums. An in-depth evaluation of the comments enhances the officials’ decision-making ability on the issues that may occur in their territories too. Furthermore, for business people, tracing current status of the global market helps them have a realistic prospect towards impending changes, leading them to prevent any costly loss of their companies.

Turning to the other side of the argument, propagation of the news can influence people’s lives in a negative way. Some media may exaggerate the magnitude of the real threats in the world, like terrorists’ attacks or prevalence of some dangerous diseases, intentionally to just gain higher audience ratings. Others may spread fake news to disturb peoples’ minds and mislead them. Moreover, some news channels may try to inculcate their own point of views to the peoples’ mind, encouraging them to think in a way in favor of their policy.

Weighing all the aforementioned arguments, I can conclude that having access to the news from various media is more beneficial for both people and the societies. To overcome the harmful sides, the authorities can have a close surveillance, controlling the spread of the disturbing information.