Some people think parents should read or tell stories to children. Others think parents needn't do that as children can read books or watch TV, movies by themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some people believe that parents should spend times telling stories to children, others think children can read books or watch TV by themselves. Personally, I believe the storytelling of parents still plays an important role in children's development.

On the one hand, it is reasonable to believe that children nowadays do not need the storytelling of their parents. This is because technology has offered a variety of ways for young children to be entertained. For instance, there are many cartoon channels available on TV that broadcast throughout the day, and the contents of these channels are often funny and entertaining that they usually catch children's interest. Further, as most of the youngsters learn to read at an early age, they should be able to read books independently, without the help for their parents. Reading alone, young people may develop reading habits, which can have large impacts on their future development. Also, reading books or watching movies alone, children can become more independent and more mature than their peers.

However, I side with those who think children still need parents' storytelling for several reasons. Firstly, although they learned to read very early, youngsters have not yet developed full cognitive abilities, so that it may be hard for them to understand all the contents of books. Therefore, they still need the help of their parents. Secondly, some of the contents on TV are violent that they are not suitable for children. The innocent mind of children may be corrupted if they are exposed to the adult contents on TV. As a result, parents should spend times to keep an eye on their children.

In conclusion, although youngsters can read books or watch TV by themselves, I believe that they still need the stories told by parents to be fully grown.