Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

several factors affect the growth and development of a child. According to some people opinion that parents have a greater role than school in shaping the character of children and making them good members of the society. I agree with this view.

The school is definitely an influence on children. Here they get to meet several other children coming from different social, cultural and financial backgrounds. Interacting with their peers is a great way for kids to learn tolerance and empathy. These two are the most important tools needed to keep our society safe and peaceful. it is important to understand that the school is our second home. So, the school is definitely a good place to learn values and good manners.

However, on the other side of the coin, it is my belief that our parents are more influential than our educational institutions. our parents are our first teachers. In addition, they are the custodians of our rich culture, traditions and religious beliefs. Moreover, they hold an authority over us unlike the teachers or guides in our educational institutions. In this regard, our parents hold a moral obligation to correct us by taking strict disciplinary measures. this particular authority may not be enjoyed by the teachers in the schools. Because of this parental authority, corrective measures could be enforced by the parents whenever their children go astray. that probably also explains why successful people almost always attribute their success to their parents, and not to the institution they attended.

To conclude, I believe that parents and the environment at home play a greater role than the school in moulding a child into a responsible citizen.