Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society.Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent times one of the most debated issues related to who should teach children about how to be good members of society. Some people assert that parents have the sole responsibility to teach some basics to their children to make them good members of society, while others contend that school is the most suitable place to learn these basics. However, I strongly believe that both arguments have their own importance.

On the one side of the argument, there are people who reason that parent is the first teacher of their child and they have a responsibility to learn them about some basics, which includes respect of their elder, honesty and many more. Generally, home is the first school where the personality development of children is initiated. They followed the actions of their parents and for this reason, it is important for parents to become a good role model for their children. For Instance, if parents give respect to their elders, then children give respect to their elders, too. Furthermore, parents are the best persons to teach them the concept of good and bad.

On the other hand, the group believes that teachers have a responsibility to make them a good character of society. According to them, nowadays, many parents are not having enough time to spend with their children because both of the parents might be employed or they may keep their children in a hostel. In this case, schools have a responsibility to teach them basics related to society. The school must also include these qualities as a part of the course so that the child may learn it. To illustrate, in Japan, at the primary stage of school, teachers have a compulsion to teach their students related to the culture and morality of society.

To conclude, in my opinion, both the arguments carry equal strength and significance and one cannot outweigh the other. Thus, both the arguments seem logical and appropriate, and I equally agree to them.