Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is one point of view that parents should teach their children to become good citizens. Meanwhile, other people believe school is the better place for children to be trained to become good citizens. However, in my opinion, parents or schools alone cannot provide holistic education for children. Following this is a more detailed discussion of each point of view and my opinion.

Those claiming that the responsibility to educate children to become good members of society explain the reason is because parents have the most influence on their children. It is parents who train their kids proper behaviors and desirable qualities, such as polite communication and kindness to others, even before they go to kindergarten. In addition, children tend to inactively observe the way the parents conduct their lifestyle, and the thinking process of their parents by being exposed to them everyday. Furthermore, the law requires parents to have the ultimate right and responsibility to take care of their children before they reach the age of 18.

On the other hand, other people that schools have much better conditions for students to learn how to be good citizens. Firstly, education in school is supported with extensive research on the development of a child. Thus, children are educated more holistically with various subjects reflecting different qualities desired by children's future society. They are taught by professional teachers who are trained to educate kids in the best way. Moreover, schools are smaller versions of real society, where children's interactions with other students and teachers are controlled. This environment could provide an opportunity for children to develop social skills and learn social norms.

However, in my opinion, a combination of the two approaches could be the best education for children. Though school can provide professional education, which many parents cannot deliver to their kids by themselves, parents continuously follow and observe the personal development of each child. Thus, they may have more understanding about their children and have more chances to continuously encourage their children to fix weaknesses, improve strengths and discover their talents. However, personal attachment to their children tends to make their education for their kids subjective. For instance, many parents spoil their kids by satisfying most of their desires. Thus, the children get familiar with having what they want and become annoyed easily whenever others do not satisfy their demand. Therefore, the objectivity and formal education are what school can compensate for children's education.

In short, it is necessary for a child to receive education from both their parents and school. While parents have the most impacts on children's characteristics and ultimate legal responsibilities to take care of them, they may be not objective enough in the education for their own kids. Meanwhile, school can provide formal and scientific education for children to meet the needs of future society.