Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a good deal of controversy among people regarding whether the kids should be taught at home by their parents or at school by their teachers on how one can be a responsible member of society. However, I believe that it is the combined responsibility of parents and teachers to create good law-abiding citizens.

Certain people are of the opinion that the behavior of a child in future is dependable on the way the parents raise that particular kid. For instance, it is a well-established fact that most of the people that end up committing crimes in adulthood have miserable childhood. These adults were either mistreated or abandoned by one or both of their parents in their early age. They were not encouraged by their parents to be a good adult. Had they had proper guidance and support from their parents they might have been a different adult.

However, many people, mostly parents insist that school being the place a kid spends major part of his/her day interacting with other kids and teachers- determine the character of their child in future. There are many cases where children learn to do drugs and commence doing petty crimes by being influenced from their friends or other senior students in their school. As such, school and teachers must turn on their watchful eyes on the kids to ensure that they learn to stay away from trouble and help them grow as a responsible individual.

It is evident from the above examples that both home and school play a crucial role in molding a child into a good adult. Hence, I deeply believe children can learn to be a good individual given their responsibilities are equally bored upon by both parents at home and teachers at school.