Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In contemporary society, the importance of physical and mental health to be a sports winner has been a controversial issue in many parts of the world. It is argued that physical strength is the main element to be successful in the sports field. Nevertheless, I am inclined that this one should be combined with spiritual insurance which is indispensable in sports.

On the one hand, sports require contestants never giving up throughout their routes, which means that sporters have to live in a good health background. For example, to be allowed to enrol in sports competition, contestants have to ensure that they do not withstand health problems, such as cardiovascular or bone problems to avoid being injured and taking risks while playing. In addition, sports are related to cooperation ability and flexible body; therefore, players have to be under the harsh training of physical health to make sure that they can meet these basic needs to succeed. Indeed, people will stop continuing physical practice due to the limitation of health.

On the other hand, even when players are accomplished but they can not be a winner without support. Football supporters, for instance, can give players emotional support, so they are determined to win to make fans not be disappointed. Also, encouragement can help people to be more self-assured. When they are ready, they can take their chance; when they suffer from feelings of worrying, loneliness, and anxiety, they will miss these chance to win. For example, when a football player feels that he lags behind others in professional ability, his legs feel like jelly and have no power even to walk.

In conclusion, while physical strength makes perfect sense to help players become more flexible, cooperated, and persisted, I claim that mental health should not be ignored due to certain aforementioned reasons. I suggest that people should have a balance between the two.