Some people think that the range of technology currently available is increasing the gap between rich people and poor people. Others think that it is causing the opposite effect.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Technological advancements have been thought to differentiate the rich from the poor, whilst others may think that they are bridging the gap between the two groups of people. Thus many reasons and arguments have been given to support each stance, and this essay will delve into both sides and present a personal view point.

On the one hand, the advent and widespread growth of technology has played a substantial role in mitigating economic inequality. To elaborate, it is owing to inventions in a wide range of job sectors that facilitate people in accomplishing the tasks with the use of machinery equipment. Not only does it reduce human dependency on such external factors as weather and limited labor force, but it also maximizes efficiency so that time is well-spent on developing extra jobs, which enriches people’s lives financially.

On the other hand, that technology has been widespread also puts a heavy toll on widening the gap between wealthy and needy people. Despite the fact that many state-of-the-art machines are introduced, some of them are still out of a indigent/impoverished/destitute person’s price range, or in other words, poor people could hardly afford such expensive machinery. This, in turns, may lead to the needy going penniless, meanwhile assisting entrepreneurial people to become more prosperous individuals.

Considering the aforementioned paradoxical effects on different economic backgrounds, I personally maintain and appreciate the positive side of high-tech deployment. To substantiate, the twenty-first century gives human tremendous growth in technology, which aims at providing people with a quality life. Bearing the truth that some devices are costly, it cannot be denied that technology is progressing continuously, which enables itself to approach more low-income families.

To sum up, technological inventions allow poor people to root out manual work and thrive towards bettering their own living standards. To put it another way, that technology has done more harm than good in resolving discrimination between the rich and poor could be considered an extreme fallacy.