Some people think secondary school students should learn international news as one of their subjects, while others believe that this is a waste of valuable time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Teaching world news to children can have different views. It can be useful since the world is becoming globalised, while it can be wasteful since the world is becoming homogeneous. In this essay will discuss about both aspects of views on world news before reaching a reasonable conclusion.

There are several different aspects of teaching international news to children. This can be seen as valuable subjects because the world is becoming globalised. As the society develops, the recognition of other country’s tradition and foreign country’s economic status becomes important. In order to grasp of that information, listening and learning about the international news are vital. By frequent observant of the global news, children may easily understand the situation occurring around the world and can identify the reasons for the current economic status. As a result, children may see the potential opportunities that face in the future consequences.

However, it can be considered as waste of time of learning other country’s situation while the world’s product and economic status become homogeneous. As the world becomes globalised, the products and the economic status become as a one. For example, in the 2008 subprime mortgage cases in the USA, the effect of this financial crisis affected the whole world due to globalisation and this had led to global financial crisis, known as GFC. As it can be seen from the example, as the world becomes the one huge monopoly market, the one’s economic status is no longer valid. Because knowing of one’s economic status will affect another country’s economy anyhow, so it is important to know about the current situation happening in local countries first.

In conclusion, knowing about global economy is as important as knowing the local countries. While I understand that the local country’s economic and political issues are important to know as a foundation, I also believe that this will affect other countries’ relevant status due to the globalisation. Due to this globalisation, it is easily seen that McDonald or other Western brands in the whole world as a monopoly and vice versa. From this example, we can conclude that the homogeneous products are the result of globalisation and thus one’s economic status affects the other like domino effect. Thus, it is important to know the local news as much as global ones.