Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whether children should be taught to compete or cooperate with others has long been a heatedly debated issue for educators and parents, and both sides seem to offer compelling arguments.

Those in favor of competition argue that competition is one of the realities children will surely face when they grow up. For children to survive in an increasingly competitive world, they would have to wise up to the idea of competition and its implications. No matter it is to land a dream job, or apply for research funds or fellowships, or get promoted in a company, competition is inevitable. This means that students have to excel in their studies and work and know how to exploit a set of tactics whenever possible in order to win out. The best time to teach children, argue proposers, would be when they are still malleable.

Others see more value in teaching children cooperation rather than competition. While there are many instances where competition is manifest, cooperation is more important and lack of it may result in disappointment and ineffectiveness. In far too many occasions, people have no choice but to cooperate with each other to get work done, because no matter how competent individuals are, complex tasks often require different backgrounds and skill sets, not to mention in some cases teammates have to work together across different time zones. It is unthinkable that a group of people who lack a sense of cooperation can perform their tasks satisfactorily.

In my opinion, an effective education should give greater weight to cooperation, because humans have an inherent notion of competition, whereas cooperation requires an awareness and nurture. Also, a cooperation-focused education does not mean that individuals cannot strive for excellence, but rather that they should be more considerate, compassionate and mature. A world full of such individuals is welcoming for everybody.