Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, due to an exponential increase in traffic accident rate, it is argued that the issue could be tackled by implementing retributions while the opponents think other methods would put an end to this matter. In this essay, I will be looking closely at both sides and try to draw some conclusions.

On the one hand, it is an indisputable fact that heavy penalties have some positive effects on road safety improvement. First, severe punishments for driving offences have worked as a deterrent against road accidents for many years. There are various types of driving retributions, such as fines, licence suspension and imprisonment, which help prevent people from repeating the same crime. For instance, if a person breaks the traffic laws, he/she will have to pay a fine equal to his/her entire wages. Additionally, the amount of money getting from driving offenders can greatly contribute to national budget. The government may invest this money in road infrastructures, which is necessary for ensuring traffic safety.

On the other hand, safe driving can be promoted by several ways that do not cry out for harsh punishments. Firstly, various programs via different means of media about consequences of traffic accidents may probably raise public awareness about their detrimental impacts. Any pedestrians or travelers can be involved in those situations and suffer from injury or death, causing both spritual and physical loss for the patients’ family and the community. Hence, it is essential that people acknowledge properly the issue. Moreover, local councils can minimize road accidents by setting more difficult driving tests to ensure only experienced people to use their vehicles for transportation, while the government can invest in better public transport to reduce the number of personal vehicles.

By way of conclusion, I believe there is no absolute measure to deal with the matter whether severe punishments or other methods since they tackle the issue in various angles. All in all, the combination of the two measures would bring about positive results.