Some people think that the teenage years are the happiest time of most people's lives. Others think that adult life brings more happiness, in spite of greater responsibility.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have differing views whether the adolescent period or adulthood is considered to be the happiest stage of life. While being a teenager allows someone to enjoy life without the need of worrying, I believe that it is happier to be an adult even if there are bigger responsibilities.

On the one hand, teenagers are not pre-occupied about their basic needs. This is because they have someone to provide these necessities in life, such as their parents or any adult member of the family. For example, parents are paying their tuitions and miscellaneous fees in school. They do not need to worry about money matters and the only thing that they do is go to school and study. However, I disagree with this school of thought because in some places especially in third world countries, teenagers are working hard to help their families and sometimes they tend not to enjoy their teenage years.

On the other hand, adults seem to be enjoying life more because they are in control of their lives. When someone reach the legal age, they do not need to depend on other people to decide things for them. They can do whatever they want as long as they have the means. For instance, when planning to buy a new car, they can choose the model they want to buy and pay it through their own money. I argue with this opinion because the freedom in deciding what I want makes me happier compared when I was a teenager in which decisions were all made by my parents.

In conclusion, I can understand why people believe that the stage of adolescence is the most enjoyable part of life, but it seems to me that being an adult is the happiest despite responsibilities.