Some people think thát the detailed description of crimes on newspapers and TV had bad consequence, so this kind of information should be restricted in the media. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, a heated debate has been engendered among the majority of people on whether or not detailed descriptions of crimes should be displayed in newspapers. A wide variety of people fear that the trend would have negative outcomes on society. This essay attempts to give plausible reasonings on why such an action should be restricted from the public eye.

To commence with, opponents of publicizing crimes are mostly concerned with the integrity of the information being exposed to dwellers. Particularly, there are high chances of newspapers written with biased views towards people involved in the crime, hence raising a public outcry for flawed equality. This would only put more pressure on the authorities to provide a closer and more objective view of the crimes, a process that is demanding of both time and effort.

Moreover, exposing a crime would do more harm than good to the society. By this, I mean those who are approached by news relating to crimes might get distressed and become unnecessarily wary of their surroundings. In the long run, this action would infiltrate in city dwellers the broad picture of a community full of social misfits and fatal threats. In fact, such crimes are only bleak aspects of a society that needs to be perceived more optimistically.

All in all, the idea of supplying people with detailed descriptions of crimes would do great harm to the society concerning the situation’s authenticity and the dwellers’ outlook on their surroundings. Reporting crimes within trials would assure their privacy and safety from public scruntiny.