Some people think that TV is a source of information and education. Others believe that TV is useful for entertainment only. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, the question “whether television is a form of education or information?” has become a long-running dispute among the public all over the world. It is a widely held view that media’s program is highly beneficial, whereas I tend to believe that one must weigh up the pros and cons of this issue.

To begin with, it is a common view that all the broadcasting tools play a vital role in each society. First and foremost is that a wide variety of documentaries, natural science, educational programs are being displayed on the TV so that it can be the best source to broaden our horizon. Secondly, it can be argued that since the textbooks do not cover all the educational subjects in schools so that the television can be considered as an appropriate tool to promote the cognitive learning of students. In addition to this information, it should be mentioned that teachers will have this opportunity to raise their level of knowledge and convey their acquisitions to the students. A group of socialists, working at a prestigious university conducted that some educational programs, like national geography, news, and historical events that are being spread on TV have raised the public awareness.

However, there is no doubt that broadcasting devices have entertaining content. It should be taken into account that a wide variety of programs, such as serials, sports, and movies are more likely considered as entertaining programs. Moreover, these kinds of programs encourage people to participate sports activity.

To recapitulate, I entirely agree that TV is more likely a source of an educational tool so that some useful action must be taken into consideration to make a balance between broadcasting educational and entertaining programs. However, as every garden may have weeds, the local authorities are recommended to enforce some strict legislation, and the individuals are hoped to heighten their intellect.