Some people think universities should provide knowledge and skills related to a future career; others think the true function of a university is to give access to knowledge for its own sake. What is your opinion of the main function of a university?

Nowadays, an increasing number of new university graduates have been unemployed and have no idea about what they need to do with their degree, in both developed and developing countries. Although there are many causes leading to this phenomenon, most people believe that this is because high-educating institutes like universities have focused on academic knowledge so considerably and forgotten the actual intellect or practical techniques, which are essential in workplaces. Base on my experience as a graduate of a big university, I mainly agree with the claim that job-related knowledge and skills should be prioritized in universities due to the following reasons.

Foremost, by orienting students to become qualified employees, universities could partly eliminate burdens of society. Specifically, the jobless rate would be decreased, firms could hire more well-trained staff, cutting off their time and expenses on retraining or governments will reduce the number of foreign experts whose wages have been occupied a great proportion of their annual budget. So, in the end, domestic human resource would be well-utilized, enabling a chance for the growth of the economy.

Next, the more students become competitive in the job market, the more benefits their university would get. As a win-win spirit, bachelors will appreciate and sponsor their old campus in many ways such as financing, upgrading equipment, infrastructure, implementing research or projects, etc. Moreover, its reputation would be gradually viral, attracting a huge amount of mature students and investment from enterprises. In other words, in the long-term, the more achievements of graduates, the more development and prosperity their university would get.

It is also true that each educational institution has their own vision, which might be the pursuit of the extraordinary intellect or the absolute loyalty of science and nobody have the right to prohibit them. Besides, some learners’ desire is not a regular 5 to 9 job, but academic accomplishments. However, due to the fact that most of us are stuck in the rat race, working skills must be on top priority.

In short, as a great demand for landing a job after graduation, universities would better guide and impart as much as possible applicable and useful “tools” and “weapons” to win in workplaces.