Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the cours

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the true purpose of studying in university. However, whether a university should give rise to upgrade job-related skills and knowledge or focus on the fundamental knowledge fot its own sake has caused heated debate. From my point of view, I believe that job-related skills and knowledge should be considered as one of the essential factors to find a future job.

To begin with, it is obvious that most students graduating from university are keen on searching for a suitable career for their own sake, so receiving practical knowledge and skills from university education enables them to become highly competitive in the job market. This is because most of them, after getting a bachelor's degree from the university, will enter the workplace, earn a living and support their own families. University, therefore, has to give top priority to future potential customers.

In addition, concentrating on job-related skills could gain a great benefit the university itself. For instance, graduated students could directly enter the job market without any further training from the company employers, which costs less time and money, so they are able to use most of their university education to skillfully dedicate themselves into the job. And foremost, that would increase the educational university reputation and become a highly well-known place training skillful workforces.

On second thought, pure science and knowledge also play a fundamental role in the advancement of job-related skills. There are, of course, a small number of students keen on the basic original knowledge, and they will later become scientists who will make enormous contributions to our society. However, these people far less than others.

In conclusion, the major function of university should be providing most students with job-related skills, guaranteeing high rate of employment and thus making the economic society wealthy. Likewise, we should not overlook the other crucial roles universities undertaking.