Some people think young people are not suitable for important positions in the government,while other people think it is a good idea for young people to take on these positions. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The government is probably the largest employer of a country, hiring hundreds of thousands of people. The debate about whether young people should be appointed to critical government positions never seems to end.

On the one hand, the fact that younger employees account for a rather small proportion in influential positions of the government may be due to their lack of required qualities to be a director or even the prime minister. For example, to run the Department of Finance safely and successfully, the minister is expected to be able to have the knowledge and experience of predicating and battling financial crisis. It is obvious that a candidate in his or her twenties can by no means have equipped themselves with such competences. This is the reason why few people under 40 are elected to be leaders of critical sectors.

​On the other hand, there are obvious advantages to having younger employees serving at important government positions. Firstly, they bring creativity and innovation to their work. Active in exposing themselves to a wider range of sources of information, younger superiors are able to come up with more and better solutions to such problems as improving the degree of public satisfaction or bridging the gap of communication between governments and people they serve. Secondly, putting young people at top positions of the government may help to achieve higher goals. This is because they are not as conservative as their older colleagues and sometimes bold leaders lead to greater success.

​In my opinion, age should not be a determining factor in the employment of top government staff. However, I suggest that there should be a minimum age requirement in this regard because individuals seriously lacking wisdom of life and work can hardly make sufficient contributions.