Some people think young people are not suitable for important positions in the government while other people think it is a good idea for young people to take on these positions Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Probably the largest employer of a country, the government is famous for its huge number of staff. But as to whether young people should be appointed to critical government positions, the debate never seems to end. From my perspective, age is an important factor to be considered in terms of selecting talents for influential positions in the government.

Admittedly, having younger employees serving at important government positions may bring creativity and innovation to the work. Active in exposing themselves to a wider range of sources of information, younger superiors can come up with creative solutions to problems including improving the degree of public satisfaction or bridging the gap of communication between governments and people they serve. Besides, young people who are not as conservative as their older colleagues and sometimes bold leaders may help to achieve higher goals when they are at top positions of the government.

However, due to their lack of required qualities to be a director or even the prime minister, younger employees actually are not the best candidates for those vital positions of the government. For example, the minister is expected to be able to have the knowledge and experience of predicating and battling financial crisis to run the Department of Finance safely and successfully. Nevertheless, those in their twenties can hardly have equipped themselves with such competences. This is the reason why few people under 40 are elected to be leaders of critical sectors.

In my opinion, a minimum age requirement have to be established because younger individuals are not calm enough on account of their age and thus can hardly make sufficient contributions. The young and aggressive employees will be relatively more easily irritated and remain sober-minded in comparison to their older counterparts, who are used to tackling affairs with normal attitudes because of their rich social experience.

To sum up, younger people are not quite competent for the leading positions. Despite the vigor brought by them, calmness and sufficient experience have to be the priority that citizens expect to see from the governmental officers.