Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The influence of movies and televisions, as one of the most complicated as well as the most sensitive topics in the modern society, does and will always arouse the attention from the public, which leads to the argument whether they generates more benefits or drawback to the behavior of young people. To be honest, the benefits of them far outweigh the drawbacks.

To begin with, voices can be heard that watching inspirational movies enables youngsters to develop some precious personalities. That is to say, when the content of movies involves the importance of love, friendship, integrity or emphasizing other proper conducts, young audience are prone to imitate the behaviors of the main figures, which makes it possible for them to develop good behavioral patterns and form proper values. For instance, in the film Spiderman which is highly favored by youngsters , the protagonist has been successfully characterized as a courageous young man always willing to help normal people and his famous saying “with great power comes greater responsibility” still encourage the fans of Spiderman to offer help to those in need. Similarly, in the film Brave Heart which was nominated for ten Academy Awards at the 68th Oscar, the protagonist has been successfully characterized as a courageous man eager for freedom, who are still regarded by many youngsters as their idol currently, encouraging them to pursue what they want.) Hence, under no circumstance should the influence of films on the young be overlooked.

Additionally, it should be acknowledged that television functions as a guide of youngsters to take responsibility for their behaviors. To be more specific, watching television enables the young to learn what should not be done more vividly and effectively due to the fact that audio-visual information can better attract peoples’ attention and engage their interest. Such is the case for programs aimed at law education, which creates the clearest deterrent effect by presenting juveniles with the harsh punishment after offending. Consequently, young people are prone to gradually realize how to behave in a socially accepted way by seeing such contents.

Notwithstanding, opponents constantly claim that the conduct of young people will be negatively affected, because admittedly, too much screen time may interfere with children’s study and other activities which are beneficial to development. For example, children may get distracted from homework or become unwilling to play outside with the peers. Nonetheless, it still doesn't function as an persuasive support because supervision from parents and restriction on watching time will extensively reduce the adverse influence.

To summarize, when all the factors have been taken into consideration, watching films or television is fairly beneficial to better the behaviors of the young. Although measures should be taken to avoid the side effects, watching proper content will for sure bring fruitful reward in the days to come.