The government should spend money in promoting sport and art in school, rather than sponsoring professional sports and art events in communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Sports and arts are always the cynosure of all eyes, especially for countries whose citizens have already enjoyed a high living standard and thus show more desire for a colorful life. In that regard, the government is wondering whether investing in sports and arts in school functions as a better option compared with supporting professional activities of the same field in communities. From my perspective, funding should be provided to school instead of communities.

Firstly, money allocated to school is of greater educational value. Financial support to the communities leads to diverse professional sports and art events, such as art exhibitions and sports competition. These activities add colors to life, but are more for entertainment instead of serving an education purpose. In contrast, funds in school allow students to have more related courses, better facilities, and more experienced art teachers as well as coaches, which can kindle students’ interest for sports and arts, making them more willing to learn.

Secondly, sponsoring school-related sports and arts is beneficial to the cultivation of sports and art abilities. Professional events, to be honest, are not for every person to be involved in, since they have a certain requirement for art appreciation and need participant to be highly skilled in sports. In other words, the entry barrier for these activities are high. However, more funding to schools allows them to afford offering courses to students of different level. There can be basic courses for beginners and advanced ones for specialized students. As a result, instructions vary from student to student, making it more likely for students to achieve significant progress in sports and arts.

In conclusion, schools instead of communities deserve the financial support, since this practice is of greater educational value and enables students to achieve greater progress in related fields.