Some people believe that the range of technologies available to individuals will increase the gap between the rich and the poor. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the acceleration of the forth scientific and technological revolution, technology has been of vital importance since it has an overall impact of people’s life. However, the influence of the technology available to people remains in dispute since the two sides, one that it will increase the gap between the well-off and the badly off, one that it provides a golden opportunity to narrow down the gap by offering access to knowledge, are still struggling to persuade each other but fail to offer overwhelming statements and evidence. From my perspective, the different range of technology available to the rich and the poor will definitely increase the gap.

To begin with, the unequal access to the medical technology will lead to a wider gap among people with various income. That is because some severe diseases may be easily cured by a certain method in the test phase which requires tremendous fortune. The fascinating approach to curing the cancer can well illustrate this idea. Targeted therapy or molecularly targeted therapy is one of the major modalities of medical treatment for cancer which is far less harmful than hormonal therapy and cytotoxic chemotherapy. As a form of molecular medicine, targeted therapy blocks the growth of cancer cells by interfering with specific targeted molecules only needed by cancer cells and not by simply interfering with all rapidly dividing cells. However, this therapy is extremely costly since the medicine must be specially designed to recognize the patient’s cancer cells. Moreover, the monoclonal antibody playing the very role as a recognition device is difficult to grow into a stage where they are abundant enough for medical purpose. Another convincing evidence on DNA test can also corroborate my opinion: the Hollywood celebrity, Angelina Jolie, found herself carrying a faulty gene, BRCA 1, which sharply increases her risk of developing breast cancer. She decided to have a double mastectomy to avoid the potential risk. Those are how technology widen the gap of living quality by offering unaffordable method for the poor.

Besides, the distinct uses of technology will result in the situation that most fortune is amassed by the wealthy since they get the incomparable capital to apply the technology in an unimaginable way. D.E.Shaw, a successful business man gaining his fame and fortune by using supercomputer, is a typical example for this. After earning 2.7 million dollars in the Wall Street, he resigned from the company and established his own. Being the first man introducing supercomputer into the stock market, he used invalid market to make a profit. Nowadays, he is honored to be the King Quant.

Some people believe the advanced technology provides us with equal access to knowledge which will give to the decreasing of the gap between the rich and the poor. However, I must show that useful knowledge on the internet will be purchased while only the rudimentary knowledge is free to all. In that case, technology does make sure everyone is educated but the degree of education is unavoidably stratified which does no good for narrowing down the gap. Instead, that technology stimulates people’s awareness of the gap without narrowing it really distributes to stable society.

To draw a conclusion, the range of advanced technologies available to people precisely increase the wealth gap.