Do you agree or disagree that students should be encouraged to study STEM courses rather than the majors they like.

Education is one of the keywords of this age since it has an overall impact on people’s quality of life, both intellectually and financially. However, people’s views differ greatly as to which should be the priority of academic pursuit, to study the STEM subjects or to focus on subjects that interest them. As I see it, choosing to specialize in one’s favorite courses is more commendable.

To begin with, opting for the courses that greatly interest the students will drive them to achieve higher goals. When motivation is stimulated by the subject exerting a special fascination on them, students are likely to spend more time on it and accomplish a better academic performance. According to a recent study conducted by the Society of Developmental Psychology, primary-school students would spend approximately three more hours each week on subjects arousing their interest than on other subjects and score about 10% higher correspondingly. This trend is also valid when it comes to high-school students. As revealed by a research of Rice University, over 95% of the students who had won an award in the state math competition have demonstrated their interest in math an an early age. Therefore, students who are interested in the classes they are taking are more likely to have better academic performance.

Besides, learning subjects that students are interested in can do a better job in helping them secure a decent job. Currently, professional skills are highly valued by companies and become essential factors to determine whether a job applicant will be hired or not. Those having selected the field they are passionate about have more will to learn better and thus can establish a solid foundation of specific knowledge, resulting in their higher chance to be offered a position in top-ranking companies. My cousin Andy’s experience can well illustrate this point. Fascinated by medicine, he started reading a mass of articles and books about the discipline since an early age. After entering the Ph.D. program of medicine at Yale, he became well-known among his peers due to his knowledge about medicine. Because of his preeminence shown in the interview, he was immediately employed by one of the best medical companies after graduation. Till now, he is the leading researcher in the company and earns a high payment. Hence, learning courses catering to students’ interests can better improve their competence, thus increasing their likelihood for a decent job.

Granted, courses like science, technology, engineering and math are technical, most of which can be applied in solving real-world issues. However, technically oriented classes do not serve as an impetus for learning and a stimulus for action. Instead,fields that interest students encourage them to learn more and perform better, thereby guaranteeing students a competitive edge to ensure future jobs opportunities.

To sum up, given the discussion above, we can firmly draw the conclusion that it is better to study subjects that interests the students, in terms of enabling them to have a better grasp of their knowledge and find a suitable job.