High school teachers spend most of the class time lecturing while the students listen and take notes. Other high school teachers spend most of the class time on discussion and projects that students are highly involved in and exchange their ideas. Which is more effective for students’ learning

How to decide the proper method to conduct teaching in high schools remains in dispute for many years, since the two sides, one that teachers should spend most of the class time lecturing while students listen and take notes, one that students should highly involve into the projects and exchange their ideas. On account of the demand that students have to firmly command the knowledge, I consider it more rational and efficient to get students involved in the meaningful projects.

Allowing students to engage themselves in academic discussions benefits students by encouraging them to really learn about the specific courses and not just acknowledge them. This is because the projects would activate students by promoting them to put knowledge into use, thus stimulating the comprehension. My partner Cyrene's experience could well corroborate this. When Cyrene was in high school studying biology, her teacher taught an experiment project called ‘rough extraction and identification of DNA’. The teacher only gave them the essential information about it but left the materials and sequence to free discussion. In that case, Cyrene and her classmates had to check what materials containing abundant DNA are pure enough, which strengthened their memories of the earlier courses and developed their awareness of collaboration.

Besides, exchanging ideas promotes students’ capabilities of communication and expression, which is vital to university students and even adults having stepped into society. My cousin Lorry graduated from a high school where teachers encouraged students to exchange their ideas in the class, leading to his better performance in communicating with people compared to his peers in the university. His high school life taught him how to raise an opinion against others’ without giving offense to his opponents, which made him perfectly work as the president of the student union. His communicating skills also contributed to his familiarity with famous professors who are then glad to write a recommendation letter for him. This helps him to fulfill his dream to study in Berkeley.

Granted, lecturing with students listening and taking notes undeniably enables teachers to teach more in less time due to no disturbance from students. To be frank, students who find it difficulty in catching up with the teaching speed can not have an overall understanding of the knowledge, therefore failing to make long-term progress.

To sum up, a firm conclusion could be drawn that teaching with more students involving is definitely a more efficient way compared to lecturing with students parroting what teacher says.