High school teachers (teachers of students ages 14-18) spend most of the class time lecturing (speaking) while the students listen and take notes. Other high school teachers spend most of the class time on discussion and projects that students are highly involved in and exchange their ideas. Which of these two approaches do you think is more effective for student learning and why?

Nowadays, the teacher-centered system is still widely in use. Critics argue that we should

shift toward a student-centered approach in the educational system. I cannot agree with them more.Let us explore some of the reasons.

In the first place, it improves learning. Since the teacher represents other points of view and challenge students, it's more likely that students end up with profound understanding. This program is now running in both top-notch and mid-level universities in different countries including KTH, Standford, MIT and much more. studies revealed that mid-level universities are now attracting students more than before.

Moreover, because The concentration of this approach is on thinking rather than memorizing, students develop critical thinking. In fact, we provide our country with individuals armed with skills who benefit the economy. Students who can analyze are capable of tackle the obstacle, and they will come with new ideas. Innovations will drive industry more effectively and contribute to the creation of cost-effective products.

But before I put my pen down, it's worth to remind every and each one of us about one simple fact, but something that is often overlooked. Like any method else, the student-centered approach may have some drawback, but it's up to us to avoid unwanted effect and make the must of it. In fact, a proper management should be introduced along with this approach.