Some young people are free in the evenings or have days off at school, which way can bring them the most benefit?

1. To accumulate work experience by a part-time job or volunteering in a community.

2. Learning to play a sport

3. Learning to play a musical instrument

Nowadays young people are encouraged to use their free time or days off at school in order to learn some skills which help them in the future. Accumulating work experience by a part-time job or volunteering in a community, learning to play a sport and learning to play a musical instrument are some suggestions for students to do in their free time. But which way can bring them the most benefit? As far as I am concerned, young people can acquire more advantages by doing a part-time job or being a volunteer in a community. In the following passages, I will shed light on my reasons.

To begin with, young people will experience different kinds of jobs and activities if they work in a part-time job or be in different communities. In other words, they will have the opportunity to learn about various jobs and also the education and abilities which are required to have for each of them. They are such useful experiences that the youth can choose their future job with more awareness. Consequently, they will be more satisfied with their job that will result positively in the quality of their life. Moreover, it is not necessary to say that people who like their job are anxious to progress and develop it. A psychological study conducted in 2018 proves this claim. According to the study, 80 percent of prominent people who are successful in their business had participated in diverse communities or had a part-time job when they were young. Steve Jobs, the co-founder of Apple Company, Bill Gates, the co-founder of Microsoft Corporation, and Phil Knight, the founder of Nike were some of the renowned successful people that are investigated in the study.

On the other hand, the youth experience varied job’s atmosphere in part-time jobs, while they will experience only one field if they learn to play either a sport or a musical instrument. Indeed, learning a sport or a musical instrument fill their time and they have not any time to experience other activities. It probably leads to choosing a job that is not proper for them, so they feel disappointed in the future. Take my piano teacher as an instance. She had spent all of her free time practicing and learning the piano when she was young. Despite success in her job, she was not happy. She always said that “If only I would be an architect, not a piano teacher.” If she had volunteered in different communities or done a part-time job, she might have chosen her favorite work consciously.

To top off the discussion, young people can gain valuable experience through doing a part-time job or volunteer in a community, which positively influences in their future life. Not only does it assist them in choosing an appropriate job but also it improves the quality of their life since they are pleased about themselves. I highly recommend that young people spend days off or free evening working part-time to benefit from the good effects of this decision in the future.