Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? A good leader should spend more time listening to other people's ideas than taking his/her own ideas.

In today's competitive world, one of the most essential needs for businesses to consolidate their position is having a good leader. There are too many viewpoints about what features a manager should have to be a good leader. In this regard, one of the contentious questions is whether a leader should listen to his/her employees and welcome their ideas or should take his/her own idea. I strongly believe that a good leader is a great listener. In the following paragraphs, l will shed light on my rationales.

The first remarkable reason to be mentioned is that listening to employees' opinions gives a leader an opportunity to have some simple ideas which he/she can either combine them or make some changes to them to finally come up with a brilliant idea. In other words, a successful leader uses the thinking potential of his/her employees to make a good decision in an acute situation. Take my personal experience as a convincing example. Last year, my company encountered a serious crisis that I had never experienced. I felt upset due to not having any ideas. For the first time, I spoke with my employees and wanted them to contribute their ideas to overcoming the crisis. Unbelievably, after two days of brainstorming ideas, we reach a perfect one which was the key to solving the problem. Had I not listened to their ideas, I could not have managed the crisis.

The second reason which deserves some word here is that providing a situation for employees to give freely their ideas, leads to making a positive atmosphere in the company which significantly influences the employees’ productivity. According to the study conducted in a distinguished university, if employees are permitted to give their opinions, they will have better feelings towards their leader, who listen to them patiently, and the company, which they work in. This brings out a good work environment that boosts employees’ self-esteem, flourishes their creativity as well as they believe in their potentials. The study also demonstrated that due to a good work atmosphere, employees confidently work with much enthusiasm and interest, resulting in thriving the company.

In conclusion, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that listening to employees’ idea is one of the monumental features which a manager should have. This is so beneficial for both leaders and employees, and even, on a big scale, the society. I highly recommend that managers take into account this golden point to benefit from numerous positive effects of it.