Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

It is crystal clear that universities and colleges can form students’ character and are of profound effects on diverse facets of their life. In this regard, there is a controversial issue that whether sports and social activities are as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. As far as I am concerned, universities and colleges should pay attention to sports and social activities besides educational ones, because these programs have significant benefits in student’s personal and social life. In the following passage, I will shed light on my reasons.

To begin with, doing sports is of positive effects on student’s mental and physical conditions. In other words, sports help students reduce their stress and have a healthier body, mind as well. In this circumstance, students will perform better in their academic activities and get better scores. Support for this idea came from the study conducted at Oxford University. According to the study, the average score of students who had done one kind of sports along with their studies is 30 percent more than the average score of ones who had not. Also, sports activities aid students in being more creative, focused and better in memorizing details, which are necessary skills to deal with difficulties in their personal life.

Another equally noteworthy point in corroborating my stance is that participating in social and sports activities assist students in not being one-track minded. To clarify, by taking part in non-educational activities, students have an opportunity to learn a skill on how they can manage two or more activities together without being confused. Michael Nicolson, educational expert in Wilson College, says that “people who can properly handle more than one thing at a time are successful not only in their social life as a manager or clerk but also in their personal life as a wife, mother or father.” This worthwhile skill will be easily acquired by participating in non-educational activities in universities and colleges.

In conclusion, according to the above-mentioned reasons, sports and social activities are of positive influence on the social and private future life of students. Moreover, students learn to handle more than one responsibility at the same time which is a valuable skill. I highly recommend that universities and colleges pay equal attention to sports and social activities like they do to educational ones and support them financially in order to benefit students from the positive points of them.