Some people believe that video games could inspire young students' interest and make their study more efficient rather than distract them and be a waste of time, so young students should be allowed to play video games. Do you agree or disagree?

In the preceding decades, video games have occupied a huge portion of young students' time. In this regard, parents are concerned about negative effects of playing video games on their children studying and they always ask whether they should allow their children to play computer games or not. Some people believe that computer games assist children in studying efficiently while others take an opposite view. I personally agree with the later ones and I will shed light on my reasons in the following paragraphs.

The first remarkable reason to be mentioned is that due to the attractive essence of video games, children spend a lot of their time, even uninterruptedly more than several hours, on playing them. Needless to say, they will not have enough time in order to study and do their assignment and obviously, their educational performance will deteriorate. Take my younger brother as a convincing example. Two years ago, he played computer games for more than 2 hours after school every day, so he could not finish his assignment and study efficiently. After a while, his grades decreased and his teacher was not satisfied with his performance. My mother decided to not let him play video games unless he did his homework. Eventually, my mother’s idea worked and his grades increased again.

The second reason which deserves some word here is that playing computer games is a passive activity and it has detrimental influences on young students' physical and mental health. Therefore, they cannot concentrate appropriately on their lessons and lose their impetus to learn and study further. Support for this idea came from a study conducted in a distinguished university in Toronto. According to the study, 87 percent of young people who playing video games was in their daily plan suffered from some physical and mental impairments such as strain injuries, fatigue, concentration problems, and sleep deprivation. Moreover, researchers found out that students’ poor physical and mental health adversely affected their education while other students who had done physical activities were significantly more concentrated and enthusiastic.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that playing computer games not only wastes students’ time but also has negative impacts on their health which both of them result in poor performance in learning and studying. I highly recommend that psychologists and educational experts inform parents about the disadvantages of playing video games so that parents can plan for their children's time more carefully and sensitively.