Some people believe that video games could inspire young students' interest and make their study more efficient rather than distract them and be a waste of time, so young students should be allowed to play video games. Do you agree or disagree?

It is axiomatic that by the advancement of technology, games undergo profound changes. As a result, traditional games are disappearing gradually and we see the emergence and development of video games. The controversial debate that arises here is about the effect of these games on students' academic performance. As far as I am concerned, it is better to prevent young students from playing video games. There are several noticeable reasons, two of which I will elucidate in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, the reason why it is a prudent course of action to inhibit students from playing too many video games lies in the fact that these games are produced by intelligent people whose goal is making money as much as possible from the product. Consequently, these people know how to make a game addictive and deviate students' attention from their courses to these distracting games. For example, four years ago, when my cousin was 15 years old, he bought an X-Box device and had a football game that took four hours a day playing that game. As a result, after five months playing, he encountered a dramatic reduction in his scores and his parents prohibited him from playing anymore.

Another equally noteworthy reason that deserves some words here is that these games are usually associated with severe physical disabilities. One of the most important is weak in eyesight. In this regard, it is no secret that these games need following the characters and events existing in the games, so a lot of eye movements are associated with these games which cause a sharp weakness in their sight ability. This problem will be more serious when it coexists with spending some time on reading books and doing assignments. Generally, I can say this mixture has the potential to annihilate your power of sight. It is surprising to say that in the example mentioned above, my cousin wore glasses after four years playing and studying together.

In summary, all of the aforementioned ideas lead us to the conclusion that young students should be prevented from playing video games as much as possible. Furthermore, it is highly recommended that parents monitor and control the time their children spend on playing video games and amuse them with healthier entertainments, especially those require cooperation with other children or even other family members.