Some people believe that video games could inspire young students' interest and make their study more efficient rather than distract them and be a waste of time, so young students should be allowed to play video games.

Entertainment has a deep root in human kind’s personality that goes way back to thousands of years ago in history. Nowadays, one of the most common forms of entertainment, especially for teenagers, is playing video games. Many parents and teachers are terrified of how video games are ruining students’ lives, and claim that their detrimental effects are irreversible. However, I, as someone who used to play video games more than five or six hours a day at some points in my life, believe that it can be very beneficial for students.

First, these games satisfy the interest teenagers have in heroism. Many novels and books that we used to read in school were tales of heroism; how a prince saved a princess, or the story of a lover who carved a love poem in to win the heart of his beloved. While these stories are lovely to hear, they cannot engross the audience, or at least the new generation audience. I think the main reason is that we- the new generation- are accustomed to having an impact on the story. I mean, books follow a certain line and the audience just passively listens to the story. Conversely, video games are interactive and the player, which is called the audience in the case of stories, can actively influence the actions of the hero. This will give the player a chance to imagine themselves as real heroes, and their actions will have consequences in the game. So, they have to devise every move carefully. I think these games are more educational than other sources of entertainment, and they are helpful toward developing a good character in teenagers.

Second, these games can boost students’ creative thinking and puzzle solving abilities. Most games require the player to show a good amount of dexterity, and they face many a puzzle during the gameplay. Puzzle solving and abstract thinking, as a result, would be necessary to develop should the player want to progress at the game. Let us step back for a moment and wonder what the goal of education was . Yes! Teaching creative thinking and riddle solving, so I think it is only appropriate to say mission accomplished! According to the line of thought I explained, playing video games, teenagers not only spend their time doing something they truly enjoy but also develop great skills of puzzle solving.

As a personal experience, when I was a kid(,) I used to play a lot on my Playstation1. There was a game that did not have audio, and the characters’ conversations appeared as text on the screen, so I had to read everything to be able to decipher the quests of the game. This game alone improved my English skills and vocabulary more than months of English courses. Another game I used to enjoy was called Silent Hill which was scary and contained extremely hard

Commented [MZ1]: Comma not needed Commented [MZ2]: The mountain

Commented [MZ3]: In the first place

mountain

at the first place

puzzles. Because it was very entertaining, I would not get tired of my futile attempts at solving its puzzles, and I persisted until I cracked them.

All in all, considering my bright resume in playing video games and the reasons I provided, I do not see any reason to think that video games are a waste of time and should be avoided. I believe that they are necessary for the development of the brain in teenage years, a period where young ones long for excitement and recreational activities. Video games should be viewed as great opportunities to provide helpful, fun material for young students.