Life today is easier and more comfortable that it was when your grandparents were children.

Determining the quality of life is very hard, because it heavily depends on what factors one chooses. Nonetheless, there are measures that can give us an idea of whether or not we have been moving forward in terms of amenities of everyday life such as educational facilities, life expectancy, and infantile mortality the most essential ones of which, in the view of yours truly, are public access to medical facilities and finding a job. I think that life today is much easier and cozier than it used to be for our grandparents. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate my reasons.

First, nowadays access to medical facilities is easier than ever. The main reason for the population boom of a few decades ago was the improvement of medical science which shows the importance of the impact of health related issues on the quality of humans' life. Having access to hospitals is taken for granted nowadays and seems axiomatic for every town and village to have one. However, forty or fifty years ago, most districts- municipality areas consisting of a few towns and villages- shared a single hospital. Many times, a poor child or woman had to shuttle kilometers to a neighboring town's hospital only to find that their doctors could not diagnose their illness, and they had to travel to an even farther hospital. But nowadays, almost everyone can get to a hospital within minutes. And it is not just the high number of hospitals, but services like emergency services where you call a number with your phone and an ambulance will come and get you. Had someone time-traveled from fifty years ago to this point in time, it would be considered a miracle to dial some things on your phone and then sit waiting for help to come in less than ten minutes.

Second, finding a job and being financially independent is by far easier than it used to be in old times. When our grandparents were youngsters, social classes were important, and not everyone could have any job they wanted. And even if they could, it was extremely laborious to leave the family job and pursue another profession. But now, with the advent of the Internet and other technologies, learning has become much simpler. Any science or knowledge that one can imagine, is a few clicks away from them. Take yours truly for instance, who studied electrical engineering most of my academic life, but overnight, got interested in computer science. I found educational material readily and started studying, which resulted in a rapid progress in my new field. Ten years ago this would have been impossible, let alone fifty years ago.

It is easy to conclude that life is much simpler these days. With great knowledge comes great responsibilities, but I think upsides of these ramifications outweigh their downsides.