Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? After high school, students should have at least one year to work or travel. It's better than attending university straight away.

Without a shadow of doubt, education plays a prominent role in every individual's life. Moreover, students are encountered with dozens of plans for continuing their educational life after high school graduations. The controversial question which arises here is whether having a brief experience of work or travel before going to university is a suitable choice or not. As far as I am concerned, it is better to experience a one-year work or travel before attending the university. There are several noticeable reasons, two of which I will elucidate in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, the reason why it is a prudent course of action to have an experience before going to college lies in the fact that students usually are not familiar with various fields of studies as adequate as they can decide for their future. In other words, the information that students get in high school is too general to recognize their actual field of interest. As a result, a short experience of work off-campus can be considered a help for their decision about their fields of study, which is a significant part of their lives because they have to spend a lot of time on their future work. For instance, four years ago, when I graduated in high school, I worked in a company that does massive mechanical engineering projects to which the major I thought I was attracted. Consequently, I broaden my awareness about that field and I choose mechanical engineering with more open eyes.

Another equally noteworthy reason that deserves some words here is that people can communicate with a broad spectrum of people coming from different classes of their society in a short experience of a journey or work. As a result, they can improve their interpersonal skills or shed their fear of speaking with new persons. Moreover, they can improve their self-confidence and ensure that they will have fewer difficulties to triumph in communicating with their colleagues. For example, a recent study I read shows that the students who attend cooperative activities like camping and traveling have much fewer troubles in socializing in the university environment.

In summary, all of the aforementioned ideas lead us to the conclusion that it is a suitable choice to interrupt your educational process with a one-year journey or work experience. It is highly recommended that the government constitutes some organizations to plan some programs for students to attend and gain mentioned benefits form them.