Do you agree or disagree with the following statement After high school students should have at least one year to work or travel It 039 s better than attending university straight away

In today’s hectic and competitive world, a gap year has been becoming a trend between students. It is opined by some that it is better to attend college straight away while this essay is trying to refute this notion. Throughout the following paragraphs, among the most predominant reasons in support of this contention knowing real interests and upgrading of skillsets will be meticulously scrutinized to advocate this standpoint that having at least one year gap between high school and the university is an intelligent decision.

To commence with, a gap year is an opportunity to spend more time for knowing yourself and your interests. University is like an endless long journey that a year off helps you to become more mature and meticulously scrutinize your future schedules before attending college. A vivid example can be given to shed light on what has elaborated above. Here, I depict one of my own experiences. Regarding the experience of high pressure and stress throughout high school, a doctor advised me to be far from any tension, so I decided to make a traveling plan to another country. That trip not only guided me to become mentally refresh but also aid to be familiarized with one who changed my viewpoints and insight into my real inclination. Experiencing volunteer work on her company assisted me to figure out my real interest and major. Accordingly, during a year off you can readily pursue your curiosities that lead to opt the right one based on your enthusiasm.

Furthermore, a year off broad your horizon and improve your skillsets. Throughout this circumstance, adolescents can learn a new language, develop their coding skills, etc. Not only do youngsters obtain novel experiences but also prepare themselves for an appropriate job by attending prerequisites. To more clarify the condition, I mention the outcome of one survey conducted in AUT School to probe the impact of the gap year on students. Over 80% of the youngsters who take part in internships or volunteer works have more confidence in their job interviews and better insight in terms of their majors. Therefore, a gap year is counted as an invaluable period to augment your weaknesses besides earning new prowesses.

To recapitulate, I pen down saying that it is more advantageous for students to have a gap year during their academic eras and I do recommend parents to encourage their child to have at least a year off in their academic spans between college and school.