Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? A good leader should spend more time listening to other people's ideas than taking his/her own ideas.

In the modern era, leaders play a crucial role in societies. There are several features and characteristics that are attributed to successful leaders. In this regard, some people possess the conviction that a good leader should listen to others’ ideas instead of expressing his or her opinions permanently. I take the view that a good leader spends more time listening to other people’s views. To substantiate my point of view, the following paragraphs represent a cursory glance at the most outstanding reasons.

First and foremost, leaders are required to make many decisions every day, which means they are in desperate need of others’ help and opinions to make the best decision. There is a widely held view that the more people consult with others, the more they will be able to make better decisions. It goes without saying that if leaders don’t listen to others’ ideas, they cannot make feasible decisions, and organizations that they lead will encounter dire consequences. My own experience is a case in point. Approximately five years ago, I worked in a big famous company in my country. The leader of the mentioned company always voices his opinions and did not let others convey their ideas concerning the challenges. As time elapsed, our company faced more and more difficulties. Thus, he decided to spend more time to listening others’ points of views. Afterwards, although it took more time to make decisions, the company never ran into such problems. Had the leader spent more time listening to others’ ideas, the company would not have come across such issues.

The second noteworthy reason to be mentioned is that leaders always need their employees and followers’ feedback so that they can distinguish their strengths and weakness. Thus, they should spend more time listening to others feedback. There is no denying the fact that if they don’t provide other with the golden opportunities to give their opinions on different aspects of his or her leadership style, they will not be capable of correcting their Mistakes. Therefore, as time goes on, chaos ensues in view of their weaknesses. In the research conducted in my country in 2020, factors that affected prosperity of leaders in different societies were explored. The results revealed that one of the most important factors was that these leaders spend more time listening than speaking. These successful leaders believed that others may offer constructive criticism which leads to success, so it is a more prudent course of action to spend more time listening to their opinions. These leaders did not prevent others to express their opinions, nor did they disregard their criticism.

In short, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that leaders should spend more time listening other’s views. Not only does it help them make better decisions, but also it provide the with valuable feedback about their weaknesses, both of which give rise to success in the long run. However, it was a story in a nutshell; actually, there are other example and reasons which are not mentioned above. Finally, it is suggested more surveys be conducted to find out the pros and cons of spending more time listening others.