Some people believe governments should spend money in saving languages of few speakers from dying out completely. Others think this is a waste of financial resources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Language is a key part for not only communication but also for our culture. Some people believe that it is not necessary to waste money on dying languages, while others argue that governments have the responsibility to conserve the endangered ones. In my opinion, the former one deserves to be advocated.

Some may defend the necessity to prevent the old languages from extinction by indicating that they represent the culture and are essential factor for a civilization. History, literature or the building ways for great landmarks which are mostly written or recorded in the old language can be lost once their language dies out. As a prime example, the extinction of old Egyptian language leads to the mystery of the construction of pyramid and this great symbol of ancient civilization still baffles scholars who study ancient breakthroughs for academic research.

However, some languages are hard to speak, which add evidence for the irretrievable death of these ancient ones. Compared with the those which are prevalent in this modern society, these endangered languages are not simplified and improved by people as the time passes by, making them extremely complicated and not worthy to be conserved. Especially in current world where international language gradually becomes the main trend because of globalization, it is easy for the public to abandon those language which are difficult for people to master in work places.

Additionally, it is tough to reverse the decline of minor languages because their revitalization requires much more efforts than the public can expect. Hebrew, once extincted yet currently revived, can be the best example to illustrate this point. From the start of its revival initiated in 19th century to the time when its status as a massively used language finally won international recognition in 20th century, Jews spent decades to promote their campaign. Besides the time needed, the huge Jewish population is another factor for the final success. However, this can not be replicated for other endangered language which is only used by minorities.

In conclusion, the reversion of extincting languages by governmental efforts is unnecessary. Although protecting extinct languages bring benefits for culture-related researches, their difficulties for speaking and revitalization make this goal tough to achieve in the reality.