Some people believe governments should spend money in saving languages of few speakers from dying out completely. Others think this is a waste of financial resources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Language is a key part for not only communication but also for our culture. Some people believe that it is not necessary to waste money on dying languages, while others argue that governments have the responsibility to conserve the endangered languages. In my opinion, I support governments should protect these languages from extinction.

There are two reasons why these languages do not need to be saved. Firstly, most extinct languages are hard to speak. Compared with these endangered languages, the languages which are prevalent in this modern society are constantly simplified and improved by people in views of history. The endangered languages are extremely complicated and not worthy to be conserved. Secondly, international language gradually becomes the main trend because of globalisation. It is easy for the public to make use of English to communicate with each other at homes or in work places. As a result, the unpopular languages are not practical for people’s life.

On the other hand, I believe governments have to prevent the old languages from extinction. In fact, language represent the culture and they are essential factor for a civilization. People can easily lose their own culture such as the history and the literature if their language die out. They might not have identity of country and are not patriotic any more. Also, by learning these endangered languages, scholars can study the history of ancient people to have the breakthroughs of academic research. It is reported that researchers find the mechanism of the construction of pyramid through old Egyptian language.

In conclusion, although extinct languages are not useful for our material life, I still firmly argue that to study them can know more knowledge and become wise.